Elantech ETPS/2 Touchpad and Xorg 1.6.0

Hey there!

I’ve finally got my Elantech Touchpad working under Xorg 1.6.0 (from Ubuntu 9.04, Jaunty Jackalope)! After a long time googling for answers, I found the solution. It’s quite simple, open up a terminal window and run the following commands:

sudo modprobe -r psmouse
sudo modprobe psmouse proto=imps

After that, you’ll notice your touchpad is working, great! Now, using your favorite text editor and root permissions, create the file /etc/modprobe.d/options and add this line into it, in order to make the changes permanent:

options psmouse proto=imps

Good luck!🙂

29 thoughts on “Elantech ETPS/2 Touchpad and Xorg 1.6.0

  1. great fix, was wondering why my clevo m570a series touch pad stopped working after an upgrade from 8.04 > 8.10 > 9.04 … it worked fine by default the previous two versions, but this fix did the trick

    • Yeah, I think such problems shouldn’t happen nowadays. But we can always find workarounds for all things Ubuntu, it’s just a matter of googling a bit🙂
      Cheers

  2. Works for me too. Actually my touchpad worked before but I was having response time issues, fixed using the same method🙂.

    • i try to save the file. but this comes out.

      “The document could not be saved, as it was not possible to write to /etc/modprobe.d/options.

      Check that you have write access to this file or that enough disk space is available.”

  3. Thanks! After googling around I found this site and it worked even on freshly installed Ubuntu 9.10 (although I thought it should work anyway)!

  4. i fixed a lot of other things in my notebook and now i am afraid of doing something without having a way back. can these commands affect my usb mouse? coud you send me you xorg.conf so i can compare it to mine?

    • Don’t worry mate, these commands won’t affect your usb mouse. I’ll try to rescue my xorg.conf file so I can send you. I’m having headaches to install linux distros on my new notebook so I’m stuck with vi$ta for a while😦 Anyway, I’ll try to make my xorg.conf available ASAP. Thanks for commenting! One thing is certain though, there’s no mention of any usb mouse on my xorg.conf file. The only thing I’ve changed on it was the part where I needed to add the correct resolution so my LCD monitor would work properly. Cheers🙂

  5. Thank you a lot! I thought I’ll go crazy trying to understand why my touchpad stop working properly after I have upgraded my Debian “testing” :))

  6. god I could kiss you right now LOL
    you don´t know for how long I´ve been searching trying to get it working properly
    awesome man! THANKS A LOT!!!

  7. ⎡ Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
    ⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
    ⎜ ↳ USB USB Keykoard id=11 [slave pointer (2)]
    ⎜ ↳ PIXART USB OPTICAL MOUSE id=12 [slave pointer (2)]
    ⎜ ↳ eGalax INC. USB TouchController id=14 [slave pointer (2)]
    ⎜ ↳ ImPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad id=16 [slave pointer (2)]
    ⎣ Virtual core keyboard id=3 [master keyboard (2)]
    ↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Power Button id=6 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Video Bus id=7 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Power Button id=8 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Sleep Button id=9 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ USB USB Keykoard id=10 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ USB 2.0 Camera id=13 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard id=15 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ HP WMI hotkeys id=17 [slave keyboard (3)]
    ####
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Section “Screen”
    Identifier “Default Screen”
    DefaultDepth 24
    EndSection

    Section “Module”
    Load “glx”
    EndSection

    Section “Device”
    Identifier “Default Device”
    Driver “nvidia”
    Option “NoLogo” “True”
    EndSection
    ####
    cat /proc/bus/input/devices
    I: Bus=0011 Vendor=0002 Product=0005 Version=0000
    N: Name=”ImPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad”
    P: Phys=isa0060/serio1/input0
    S: Sysfs=/devices/platform/i8042/serio1/input/input13
    U: Uniq=
    H: Handlers=mouse2 event12
    B: EV=7
    B: KEY=70000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    B: REL=103
    ###
    Can you help me?My synaptics touchpad still doesn’t work,What should I do?

    • I have no idea how to help you. Maybe you should do some googling using your distro version and your touchpad model/maker. Try this in a terminal window in order to see what touchpad model you’ve got: lspci

      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

