Converting Youtube Videos Into Music (mp3, wma, etc.)

Hello guys! Last week I went to my cousin’s graduation party and I heard a song I liked very much. Today I remembered to look it up and found it on Youtube. Here’s what I did to convert the Youtube video into an mp3 file:

First of all you’ll have to download the video and for that task there are a couple of tools that can be used (i.e.: youtube-dl, Video Download Helper, etc.) but in my case, as an Ubuntu user, all I had to do is go to /tmp/ and find the file I wanted:

Now I’ll have to make sure I’ve got everything I need for the conversion process: ffmpeg and codecs (Medibuntu repository will be necessary now). Ubuntu Tweak will help you get the Medibuntu repository set up, you may either use it or follow the instructions right from the Medibuntu page link above.

After Medibuntu is all set up, open up a terminal window and run this command:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install ffmpeg libavcodec-extra-52 w32codecs

When this command is done working you’ll be ready to get the Youtube video file converted. Still at the terminal window run the following command now:

ffmpeg -i input_video_file output_audio_file.mp3

That final .mp3 extension may be replaced with .wma, .ogg or whatever pleases you. Have fun!😀

One thought on “Converting Youtube Videos Into Music (mp3, wma, etc.)

  1. Caso alguém necessite destas instruções em Português, favor me mandar um comentário e eu as traduzirei. Estou com preguiça de fazer um novo post em pt_BR agora.

Leave a Reply

